Minister Khadija Bukar Abba Ibrahim resigns from President Buhar’s cabinet

The Minister resigned her appointment to run for elective positions in the upcoming 2019 general elections. She is running to represent the Damaturu/Tarmuwa/Gujba/Gulani federal constituency of Yobe State at the National Assembly.


She defeated her son-in law, Mohammed Bukar Abba Ibrahim, to emerge flagbearer of the House of representative seat for Damaturu/Tarmuwa/Gujba/Gulani  constituency of Yobe State in October 2018 during the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election.


She scored 1,295 votes while her step son got 15 votes. Hajiya Ibrahim, who was appointed minister in 2015, is the sixth minister to resign from the federal cabinet. She confirmed to some State House Correspondents that Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting was going to be her last, shortly before the commencement of the meeting.


Her resignation comes a month after the former Minister of State for Environment, Ibrahim Jubril, resigned following his declaration as the 13th Emir on December 7, 2018 following his selection by the Nasarawa Emirate Council and subsequent approval by Governor Tanko Umaru Al-makura. Others that h resigned includes Hajiya Amina Mohammed, on 24 February 2017. This followed her appointment at the United Nations as UN Deputy Secretary General.

Kayode Fayemi, now governor of  Ekiti State, also resigned as the minister of Solid Minerals Development  on May 30, 2018, to pursue his political ambition. On September 14, Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun, had resigned following the scandal that trailed her forged National Youth Service Commission (NYSC) exemption certificate to get into public office.


Minister of Women Affairs and Social Development, Sen. Aisha Alhassan, also known as ‘Mama Taraba’, resigned from the cabinet and from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) while Alhassan has hinged her resignation on her disqualification in the screening for the 2019 Taraba state governorship contest by the APC National Working Committee.

About The Author

Follow by Email